Exercise: 101 word short story

Read the short short story “Frontiers” by John Daniel, and write a story that has exactly 101 words — including the title. The story:

Frontiers

I’ve never been this far from home. I’ve never stayed up this late. I’m out west.

We rode the train. I slept upstairs. You put your clothes in a hammock. They have Dixie cups.

The world has mountains on the edge, where the sun sets, big black things, and that’s where we’re going.

I’m in the front seat with my mother. I’m five. We’re going to a dude ranch. There will be cowboys.

There’s a soft green glow on the dash board. My mother wears perfume.

I’m traveling. I’ve never been this old.

“The stars are ablaze,” I tell my mother.

Published by

headComposter

I write draw teach blog in and from the Pacific Northwest of America.

5 thoughts on “Exercise: 101 word short story”

  1. I remember this story and this exercise from years ago. A few months ago I actually went back and revised my 100 word story when I finally found a place to submit it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

